Awards Evening
12th July 2019

The annual Tytherington School Awards Evening for Yr7&8 and Yr9&10 took place on Tuesday 9th July. This well-established end of year tradition is always highly anticipated by students, parents and staff, as it allows us to formally recognise the many achievements of our students.

The evening began with an address from our Headteacher, Mr Botwe. This was followed by the presentation of subject awards for both greatest gain and achievement as well as pastoral, form tutor awards. Next up were the highly sought-after House Awards which were generously provided by the Rotary Club and presented by special guest and Rotary Club member Margaret Forster. Heads of Year (HOY), Mrs Woods (HOY 7), Miss Linaker (HOY 8&9) and Mrs Holley (HOY 10) then presented both the Guy Wharton Award for Endeavour and the Headteacher’s Award to their retrospective year groups. The evening culminated in a heart-warming tribute, delivered by Mr Barlow (Head of Mathematics), to former Maths teacher Mr Matthew Caine who sadly passed away from a brain tumour prior to the beginning of this academic year. The Matthew Caine Awards for Mathematics were presented to Angus Gingell (yr7), Mir Ali (Yr8), Imogen Pemberton (Yr9) and Aiden Simpson (Yr10).

All students who attended the evening were worthy winners and it was a privilege to plan an event enabling staff and family members to proudly recognise and congratulate the students on their achievements. The evening marked one of the highlights of our academic year and was enjoyed by the 500 plus students, parents and staff who attended. Congratulations again to all our winners.